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Parking - The Problem

e Cars used as storage lockers

e Autobody shops park cars on public
streets

e Boats and RVs parked on public
streets

e Multiple cars per household




Parking - Current Law

e SCCC 9.57 Any operable vehicle on a highway or public right-of-way which has not been moved more than
1,000 feet for a continuous 72-hour period and appears to be a deserted vehicle is declared an abandoned

vehicle, subject to removal under this chapter.” [Ord. 4756 § 1, 2004].
e 9.70.620 Overnight parking of mobile homes and recreational vehicles prohibited.

It shall be unlawful to park a mobile home or recreational vehicle overnight upon any highway, street or
alley, including the right-of-way, except for emergency purposes.

Exception: This section shall not apply to owners or drivers of mobile homes
or recreational vehicles who park a mobile home or recreational vehicle on a highway, street, or alley
that abuts property containing their residence, as long as the vehicle is parked on the highway, street, or

alley for no longer than 24 hours.
Exception: A mobile home or recreational vehicle may be parked for no more than 72 hours on a
highway, street, or alley directly adjacent to private property (the “host property”) if the owner or driver of

the vehicle has (1) the permission of a resident of the host property and (2) a permit issued by the
Sheriff's Office that is kept plainly visible on the dashboard of the vehicle.
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Parking - Proposed Solution

e Permit required for parking anywhere in the
program area for more than 72hrs

e Program area is all of Live Oak, Soquel, and
Aptos

e Limited to 1 permit per person or 2 per
household

e Complaint based enforcement

e Revenues used to pay for towing and
demolition




E-Bikes - The Problem

The Problem:

e E-bikes on sidewalks, including
East CIiff

o Often riding the wrong way

e Unsafe riding without a helmet
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E-Bikes - Current Law

9.54.010 Regulations.

(A) Notwithstanding any other provision of this code, a "motorized bicycle” as defined by California Vehicle
Code Section 406(a), and a "motorized scooter” as defined by California Vehicle Code Section 407.5(a), are
authorized to operate on any bikeway under the County’s jurisdiction.

8.23.020 Prohibited areas.
It is unlawful for any person(s) riding in or on, or by means of any skateboard, roller skates, roller blades,
coaster, or similar device to go in or on the following prohibited areas:

(C) Soquel Village, Zone A, as defined by SCCC 9.42.030, including the streets and sidewalks within the
Soquel Village, Zone A;

(D) Walls, steps, driveways, or parking lots on public property, provided the area is clearly and
conspicuously posted with signs stating “Skating and Skateboarding Prohibited (Santa Cruz County Code
8.23.020)”
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http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=VEH&sectionNum=406
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=VEH&sectionNum=407.5

EBikes - California Vehicle Code

CHAPTER 1. General Provisions [24000 - 24020]

(b) A person operating an electric bicycle is not subject to the provisions of this code relating to financial responsibility,
driver’s licenses, registration, and license plate requirements, and an electric bicycle is not a motor vehicle.

21212.

(a) A person under 18 years of age shall not operate a bicycle, a nonmotorized scooter, or a skateboard, nor wear in-

line or roller skates, nor ride upon a bicycle, a honmotorized scooter, or a skateboard as a passenger, upon a street,
bikeway...

(d) A charge under this section shall be dismissed when the person charged alleges in court, under oath, that the
charge against the person is the first charge against that person under this section, unless it is otherwise established in
court that the charge is not the first charge against the person.

(e) (1) Except as provided in subdivision (d), a violation of this section is an infraction punishable by a fine of not more
than twenty-five dollars ($25).

DMV Website

The operator of a Class 3 electric bicycle:
- Must be 16 years old or older.
- Must wear a bicycle safety helmet.
- Must not transport passengers.
- May ride an electric bicycle in a bicycle lane if authorized by local authority or ordinance.

- Bicycles are personal property NOT vehicles and cannot be impounded.
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EBikes - Proposed Solution

e Disallow use of electric assist bikes
and scooters on sidewalks or walking
paths.

e Install sharrows on East Cliff going East
and a contra-flow bike lane going
West. Install signage saying electric
bikes must use street/bikelane.

e Incentivize e-bike registration and
education.

e Support state laws like AB 530 to
require e-bike license and 12 year old
age limit.
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Short Term Rentals - The Problem

e Difficulty in enforcing noise ordinance

e Thereis a block cap of 20% (in LODA) but not
a radius limit so people can be surrounded by
vacation rentals

e Un-hosted rentals are not limited outside of vy
deSIgnGted Zones ". :‘ - ' | (408) 757710
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e Homes for sale are marketed as vacation
rentals and the local workforce can’t compete

e Once d home receives d permitin d
designhated zone, it can be renewed
indefinitely, preventing others from receiving
a permit
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Short Term Rentals - Progress

Tim Morland is the new Code Compliance Investigator (CCl 1) for Vacation Rentals. He started in October 2023
and in these first three months has been working on the following:

- Citations - Since 11/2/23, 64 citations issued to unpermitted VRs. Created a tracking system and process for
monitoring unpermitted rentals.

- Revocations — Worked closely with PLN staff to create a process for revocations, and now have 2 properties in
the revocation process — expected at ZA hearing on 2/2/24.

- AirBnB — Worked with Pellerin’s office to get a contact at AirBnB. In discussions with AirBnB about removing all
unpermitted VRs from their platform, as well as how to ensure VR permit holders on the platform are abiding by
the County’s ordinance in regard to advertising. This same process will pursued with VRBO and Hipcamp.

- Standard Operating Procedures (SOPs) — Have drafted a series of SOPs for Code Compliance staff to outline
processes regarding unpermitted uses, issuing citations, and creating service requests

- Outreach materials — have drafted outreach materials to be shared with VR permit holders to inform them of
permit requirements

- Cross departmental collaboration — working closely with the PLN staff who process/approve VR permits, and
together have identified property owners with violations who were in the renewal process. Set up monthly
meetings with Auditor’s office to ensure compliance with TOT and VR ordinance, including cross referencing
parcels who are delinquent on TOT.
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Short Term Rentals - Current Law

e 262 vacation rental permits shall be issued in the LODA, and no
more than 18 hosted rental permits shall be issued for a total of
280.

e Block cap of 20% within designated areas.

13.10.690 Hosted rentals
e Hosted rentals limited to 250 permits county-wide

8.30 NOISE (D) Prior to issuing a citation for this section, the responsible person or persons will be
warned by a law enforcement officer or other designated official that the noise at issue is offensive and
constitutes a violation of this chapter. A citation may be issued if, after receiving the warning, the
responsible person(s) continues to make or resumes making the same or similar offensive noise(s)
within three months of the warning.
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Short Term Rentals - Possible Solutions

e Moratorium on new un-hosted short-term
rental permits

e Limitun-hosted rentals to 90 consecutive
days per year

e Limit un-hosted rentals to a minimum of 7
days to reduce turnover

e Phase out un-hosted rentals, increase
number of permitted hosted rentals

e Define in noise ordinance that hotel guests
and short-term rentals may be issued a
noise violation without a prior warning




Questions/Contact Info

Sa First.District@SantaCruzCountyCA.gov
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